Japan has no nationwide "no tattoos" rule for baths, and a cover sticker is not a guaranteed pass either. The Public Bath Act (公衆浴場法) tells operators to refuse people with contagious diseases and says nothing about tattoos, while the Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO) warns that some places refuse tattoos even when they are covered.

That leaves a patchwork of house rules, which this guide sorts into what the government has said, what the tourism organization advises, how Tokyo's neighbourhood bathhouses fit in, and what the big gym chains publish on their own sites. Sources were read on 23 September 2026.

What the law and government say

The national law on public baths, the Public Bath Act, does not mention tattoos. Article 4 of the Public Bath Act says operators "must refuse" bathing to anyone recognised as having a contagious disease, except at licensed therapeutic baths, and Article 5 forbids bathers from making the bath markedly unclean. There is no clause about tattoos.

The clearest government statement is a 2016 notice from the Japan Tourism Agency (観光庁). On 16 March 2016 it wrote to the national hotel, city hotel, ryokan and hot spring associations that "入れ墨をしていることのみをもって、入浴を拒否することは適切ではございません", meaning that refusing someone a bath solely because they have a tattoo is not appropriate. Two days later the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare forwarded it to prefectures and cities, asking them to make sure bathing facilities do not refuse people "不当な理由により" (for unjustified reasons).

The notice gave facilities three points to keep in mind. People may have tattoos for religious, cultural or fashion reasons; mutual understanding between bathers is needed; and "入れ墨があることで衛生上の支障が生じるものではない", a tattoo causes no hygiene problem.

It then listed example responses, which are the options you are most likely to meet. Facilities could ask you to cover the tattoo with a seal so other bathers cannot see it, or not ask anything if the tattoo is small, "for example, palm-sized", and not intimidating. They could suggest bathing at times when few families use the bath, or direct you to a separate bath, a private bath (貸切風呂) or a room with its own bath.

The notice also explains why it was written. The agency said foreign visitor numbers had jumped from 8.36 million four years earlier to a record 19.74 million the previous year, that more trouble was feared as tattooed visitors used hot springs, and that it was informing foreign travellers through JNTO about how tattoos are perceived in Japan.

The guidance is advice, not a rule. When a member of the House of Representatives asked about it in May 2016, the Cabinet's written answer said the examples were not written with every case in mind and that the handling of tattooed foreign visitors "最終的には、個々の温泉施設の管理者の判断に委ねられている", is ultimately left to the judgement of each facility's manager.

The question that prompted this answer had asked whether the approach suited visitors with large tattoos covering arms, legs or backs, which cannot be hidden with a seal, and whether Japanese people with tattoos should be treated the same way. On those points the Cabinet replied that it was difficult for the government to state a view, because the decision is left to each facility.

The same answer explains why the guidance speaks of foreign visitors only. The Cabinet said friction based on misunderstandings had arisen between Japanese and foreign bathers, whose ideas about tattoos differ culturally, but that similar friction among Japanese people had not become evident, so the same approach was not being applied to Japanese people with tattoos.

Terms you will see at the door

Signs and staff use a handful of words, and knowing them helps you read a rule before you pay. The price column gives the only official prices found for these services; cover seals and private baths are priced by each seller or facility.

Name Local name What it is Price range
Tattoo 入れ墨 / 刺青 / タトゥー The three written forms used in notices and gym rules No fee stated
Hot spring 温泉 (onsen) Bath using natural hot spring water; rules set by each facility Not published
Public bathhouse 銭湯 (sento) Neighbourhood bath under Tokyo's price cap 600 yen adult from 1 August 2026
Private bath 貸切風呂 (kashikiri-buro) Bath rented for your group alone Not published; JNTO says usually extra
Cover seal タトゥーシール / シール Skin-coloured adhesive patch over a tattoo Not published
Bathing wear 入浴着 Hygienic garment the 2016 notice says facilities could allow Not published
Palm-sized 手のひらサイズ The 2016 notice's example of a small tattoo No fee stated
Public Bath Act 公衆浴場法 National law on public baths; silent on tattoos No fee stated

The three spellings matter because different operators use different ones. The 2016 notice uses 入れ墨 with タトゥー in brackets, Gold's Gym's bylaws use both 刺青 and タトゥー, and Konami Sports Club's joining page says 刺青やファッションタトゥー, tattoos and fashion tattoos, without distinguishing size.

JNTO's onsen guide offers phrases in romanised Japanese for asking at the front desk. Among them are "Tatu ga haitte iru no desu ga, daijobu deshou ka?" (I have a tattoo, is it okay for me to go in?), "Tatu shiiru ga arimasu ka?" (Do you have tattoo seals?) and "Tatu ga haitte iru no desu ga, kashikiri-buro wa arimasu ka?" (I have a tattoo; do you have a private bath?).

Onsen: case by case

JNTO does not promise a uniform answer for hot springs. Its 2024 guide says the situation at public onsen "is very case-by-case", that "many onsen owners don't care", that other bathers will probably overlook small, less noticeable tattoos, and that "generally speaking, there is more leniency given to international visitors".

JNTO's first tip is to ask before you go. It suggests emailing the facility directly about its rules, or going through your booking agency or platform, and notes that some places may simply ask you to avoid peak times, which matches the 2016 notice's suggestion of quieter hours.

Covering up works at some places and not others. JNTO describes tattoo seals as skin-coloured adhesive strips that conceal a small to medium tattoo, sold at some onsen, online, in drugstores and at the Don Quijote chain, but adds that "some places won't allow tattoos even if they are covered up while others may allow them if they are under a certain size".

Where you stay also changes the options. JNTO's guide says a public onsen at an accommodation is almost always free for overnight guests, and that many accommodations offer fully private en-suite baths included in the room price, which avoids shared bathing altogether.

JNTO also publishes a short list of onsen it describes as tattoo-friendly. The only one JNTO places near a Tokyo airport is Yamato-no-Yu in Chiba Prefecture, about 40 minutes from Narita Airport, which JNTO says admits primary school age and above only; the others are in Ehime, Hyogo, Gunma, Oita, Wakayama and Yamanashi. The list is undated and a note in it refers to works due to finish in December 2024, so confirm the current policy with any facility before you travel.

Kinosaki Onsen, on the same list, shows how rules can differ inside one town. JNTO says all seven of its public bathhouses are tattoo-friendly, but that "each ryokan has its own rules about tattoos", so the bath in your inn may not follow the public baths' policy.

Tokyo sento and tattoos

Tokyo's neighbourhood bathhouses are a different kind of business from resort onsen. JNTO says of sento that "tattoos are typically accepted in public baths however it is always a good idea to double-check", and its onsen guide describes sento as generally simpler baths using ordinary heated water rather than natural hot spring water.

The Tokyo Sento Association (東京都浴場組合), which represents the city's bathhouses, does not state a tattoo policy on the pages read for this guide. Its question-and-answer page, its how-to-bathe page and its English introduction were searched for 入れ墨, 刺青, タトゥー and "tattoo", and none of the words appears.

What the association and the city do publish is the price. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government set the maximum adult price for sento at 600 yen from 1 August 2026, up from 550 yen, under the price control ordinance that covers them; the child rates stay at 200 yen for ages 6 to 11 and 100 yen for under-6s. The association also sells ten-ticket books for adults at 5,400 yen, valid until 30 June 2027.

Because the adult price is capped, asking at the counter of a local bath is a low-cost way to find out its house rule, and the association's English page describes water usually around 42°C in baths more than 50 cm deep. How many bathhouses remain across the city is covered in the guide to Tokyo's sento closures.

Neither the city nor the association publishes a list of sento that refuse or accept tattoos. Look for a sign at the entrance or ask the attendant, using the JNTO phrases above, before you undress.

Bath etiquette beyond the tattoo

Getting through the door is only half of it; the bathing rules apply to everyone, tattooed or not. JNTO's onsen guide says most hot springs expect you to bathe fully naked, to wash your whole body at the seated showers before getting in, and to keep the small towel out of the water so as not to affect its purity.

Hair counts as a contaminant too. JNTO says to tie long hair up and not to submerge your head, even if your hair is short, and advises against eating or drinking in the bath, adding that being drunk in an onsen is impolite and may affect your health.

Keep your soak short. JNTO suggests about 30 minutes as a maximum in a hot spring, and the Tokyo Sento Association's English page says Tokyo sento water is usually around 42°C. Water coolers and vending machines are usually available, according to JNTO, for when you get out.

A cover seal has to survive all of that. Because you will wash and soak, a patch that peels in hot water defeats the purpose, so test one in a hot shower before the trip if you can. JNTO says seals are sold in drugstores, and the guide to reading a drugstore label explains the key words on Japanese drugstore packaging.

Mixed bathing is rare and separate baths are the norm. JNTO says the vast majority of public onsen are separated into men's baths, usually marked in blue, and women's, usually red; it suggests private baths, en-suite baths and footbaths for anyone uncomfortable with open nudity.

Footbaths need no undressing at all. JNTO describes ashiyu footbaths, often near stations or town centres, with a seating area and a small roof, as one way to take part in bathing culture without nudity.

Sento have their own history in Tokyo. The Tokyo Sento Association says sento began as baths for people without a bath at home and have declined in number since 1965 as more homes gained baths, but have been re-evaluated in the Reiwa era as a kind of neighbourhood spa.

Gyms: chain rules compared

Gyms are private clubs, and the large chains write tattoo rules into their own terms. The table compares what each chain's own website says, and the difference between them is wide.

Gym Rule on its own site Covered tattoo allowed? Size limit
Konami Sports Club Refuses facility use to anyone with tattoos or fashion tattoos No None stated
Gold's Gym Entry only if the tattoo fits within 15 cm by 15 cm and is covered everywhere, including baths and lockers Yes, if small 15 x 15 cm
JOYFIT May use if tattoos are hidden with supporters, shirts or tape Yes None stated
Anytime Fitness Membership fine, but exposing tattoos anywhere in the facility is banned Yes None stated
Tipness Membership only after an individual screening whose criteria are not published Depends on screening Not published
Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium No tattoo rule on its training room or FAQ pages Not stated Not stated

Gold's Gym's bylaws contain both a ban and an exception. They list "刺青等をしていない方", people without tattoos, among the membership conditions, and then allow entry for tattoos within 15 by 15 cm on the condition that they are covered with a supporter, shirt or tape; larger tattoos mean "ご利用は一切出来ません", no use at all. If a tattoo is discovered after someone joined without declaring it, the bylaws say they can no longer use the facility.

Anytime Fitness draws the line at visibility rather than size. Its FAQ says members with tattoos may join but must never expose them in the facility, and that because locker rooms and shower rooms are private rooms out of other members' sight, being there does not count as exposure.

Tipness keeps its criteria private. Its FAQ says people with tattoos can join only if they pass a screening and accept conditions, that the screening content and conditions are not published, and that members who see someone with a tattoo should tell staff.

Visitors on a trial or a guest pass are treated the same way at Tipness. A separate answer in its FAQ says anyone with tattoos or fashion tattoos, including trial users and accompanied visitors, can use the facility only after passing the same screening and agreeing to the conditions, explained individually at the club.

That matters for short stays. If you are only in Tokyo for a week, the chains that state a clear cover-up rule, or a public gym with no stated rule, involve less uncertainty than a club that decides case by case at the counter.

Gold's Gym also writes in an exception. Its bylaws say athletes invited for events have been allowed to use facilities as a special case under the company's responsibility, which shows the rule is the company's own house policy.

The public option has no stated rule. The Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium's training room charges 700 yen for 2 hours 30 minutes for anyone of high school age or older, and its FAQ says there are no rules on clothing beyond sportswear and indoor shoes. Neither page mentions tattoos, so ask at reception if you want certainty. The gymnasium opens from 9am to 11pm on weekdays, 9am to 10pm on Saturdays and 9am to 9pm on Sundays and holidays, and also sells a 3,000 yen one-day ticket covering the training rooms, pool and studio.

Its pool has swimwear rules that are about the costume, not the skin. The FAQ says swimsuits that do not fit, are see-through or expose a lot, such as thong styles, and fundoshi and wetsuits are not allowed; it says nothing about tattoos being covered.

What this guide does not cover

No count of how many Japanese baths refuse tattoos is given here. A 2015 Japan Tourism Agency survey is widely reported in the press, but the agency's own report was not retrieved for this guide, and its 2016 notice page returned an error, so the notice is quoted from the copy attached to the health ministry's letter.

It does not name individual Tokyo sento or onsen as tattoo-friendly or tattoo-free, because no official list for Tokyo was found; the Tokyo Sento Association publishes no tattoo policy, and JNTO's tattoo-friendly list includes no facility inside Tokyo. It gives no price for cover seals or private baths, since neither JNTO nor any facility read publishes one.

It does not cover hotel pools, day spas inside hotels, or gym chains other than the five whose own sites were read, and it cannot say how each gym's branches apply their chain's rule; Anytime Fitness itself tells you to confirm with the branch.