The single most useful thing to understand about this border is that nobody publishes a combined figure, because no single authority charges it. Malaysia's road transport department sets one half, Singapore's land transport authority the other, and the two are structured so differently that they cannot be added without saying which direction, which day of the week, and which checkpoint. What follows is every published number, with the rule each one hangs on.
The two directions are charged by different authorities on different bases
Malaysia charges per entry. Singapore charges per day. That asymmetry is the whole design, and it explains most of the confusion.
On the Malaysian side the instrument is the Road Transport Act 1987, administered by the Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ), and the collection runs through a vehicle-mounted RFID tag. Registration is compulsory for everything: "Semua kenderaan asing sama ada kenderaan persendirian, komersial, perkhidmatan awam, motosikal atau kenderaan milik kerajaan hendaklah mendaftar dengan Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ) sebelum memasuki Malaysia" — all foreign vehicles, private, commercial, public service, motorcycles or government-owned, must register before entering. Registration is at vep.jpj.gov.my. The deadline to hold the tag was 1 October 2024.
On the Singapore side the instrument is administered by the Land Transport Authority through the OneMotoring service, and the charge is a daily one that stops accruing when the vehicle is not there.
There are also two toll plazas on the Malaysian side, officially named the Sultan Iskandar Building Toll Plaza for the Causeway and the Tanjung Kupang Toll Plaza for the Second Link. Malaysia reduced tolls for cars, buses and taxis at both on 1 February 2020, which is documented — by Singapore's transport authority, in the release announcing its own matching reduction. The Malaysian amounts themselves are not published in any source reached, a gap the closing section returns to.
Going into Malaysia: the tag, the RM20, and the 90-day ceiling
The Malaysian charge on a foreign car is a flat RM20 for each entry, and it cannot be paid in cash.
The department's own FAQ sets out the scheme in full. The Road Charge of RM20 per entry applies to "kenderaan pendaftaran asing (kenderaan persendirian/kenderaan syarikat persendirian) sahaja" — foreign-registered private vehicles and private company vehicles only. Exempt are government vehicles on official business, diplomatic vehicles, cargo vehicles, public service vehicles and motorcycles. Payment is by Touch 'n Go RFID card or Touch 'n Go e-wallet; cash is not accepted at all.
The tag costs are separate and one-off: a processing fee of RM10, an agent service fee of RM29.50, and a delivery fee at current postal rates. The tag is valid for five years from activation. At the central bank's middle rate of 3.1950 ringgit to the Singapore dollar on 22 September 2026, the RM39.50 of fixed fees is about S$12.36 and the RM20 entry charge about S$6.26 — which puts Malaysia's per-entry charge and Singapore's Reciprocal Road Charge within a few cents of each other, almost certainly by design.
Two further conditions in the same FAQ matter for anyone driving in and staying. Failure to register is an offence under section 66H(7) of the Road Transport Act 1987, punishable by a fine "tidak melebihi RM2,000" or imprisonment not exceeding six months. And a foreign vehicle "boleh berada di Malaysia selama tidak melebihi 90 hari" — may remain in Malaysia for no more than 90 days.
Who actually bans a card surcharge is answered in the surcharge guide.
Going into Singapore: a day fee that ten days a year cancels
Singapore's charge is the more generous one for a weekend visitor and the more expensive one for a commuter, and both facts come from the same structure.
| Charge | Cars | Motorcycles |
|---|---|---|
| VEP fee | S$35 a day | S$4 a day |
| Free days each calendar year | First 10 chargeable days | First 10 chargeable days |
| Reciprocal Road Charge | S$6.40 per entry | Not specified |
| Woodlands Checkpoint toll | Entry none listed, exit S$0.80 | Not specified |
| Tuas Checkpoint toll | S$2.10 entry, S$2.10 exit | Not specified |
| ERP, no In-vehicle Unit | S$5.00 a day | Not specified |
The exemptions are what make the day fee survivable. The authority waives it "on Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays", and also "if you enter Singapore from 5.00 pm and exit by 2.00 am the next day". Further conditions apply during the June and December school holidays. So a Malaysian-plated car that comes in for a Saturday and a Sunday, or for an evening, pays no VEP fee at all — only the S$6.40 road charge, the toll, and the ERP day fee if it has no In-vehicle Unit.
One change is already published and dated. "From 1 January 2027, revised VEP fees will apply on weekdays (excluding Singapore public holidays)", with a flat-rate ERP fee also applicable. The revised amounts are not stated on the page, so anyone budgeting a 2027 commute has a number to go and look for rather than a number to use.
There is also a rule about keeping the car rather than driving it. Singapore citizens, permanent residents and holders of passes issued by the immigration authority or the manpower ministry "are not allowed to keep and use a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore", with an exception for certain work-pass holders not residing in Singapore. That is a status rule, not a fee, and it catches people who move across the border and keep their old plates.
The two instruments that govern alcohol appear in the Shah Alam alcohol guide.
The 2020 toll cut, which is the only before-and-after either side published
Singapore's toll reduction of 2 March 2020 is worth setting out in full, because it is the one occasion on which an authority on either side published the old and new figures side by side.
| Checkpoint and vehicle | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| Woodlands, cars | S$1.00 | S$0.80 |
| Woodlands, taxis | S$0.50 | S$0.40 |
| Woodlands, buses | S$0.80 | S$0.60 |
| Tuas, cars, peak and off-peak | S$2.50 / S$1.30 | S$2.10 / S$1.10 |
| Tuas, taxis, peak and off-peak | S$1.90 / S$1.00 | S$1.60 / S$0.80 |
| Tuas, buses, peak and off-peak | S$3.00 / S$1.50 | S$2.50 / S$1.20 |
The release states the reason plainly: the cut was made "in response to Malaysia's reduction of toll charges for cars, buses and taxis at the Sultan Iskandar Building Toll Plaza (Causeway) and Tanjung Kupang Toll Plaza (Second Link) on 1 February 2020." Reciprocity is the operating principle of this border, and the table is the evidence.
Note the peak and off-peak split at Tuas, which survives the cut and does not exist at Woodlands. The current OneMotoring page quotes a single S$2.10 each way for Tuas, so the peak distinction may since have been collapsed; the two pages do not reconcile, and the later one is the one to plan on.
The equivalent menu-board vocabulary is set out in the mamak board decoder.
How busy it actually gets, in the only numbers anyone publishes
Crossing volumes are published by exactly one authority on either side of this border, and it is Singapore's immigration service. Malaysia's immigration department publishes service-transaction counts — 13,105,282 online and 2,431,657 counter transactions for January to December 2025 — with no entries at all for the Sultan Iskandar building or the Second Link complex. The Johor state portal has no border-volume page.
| Measure | Figure | Date or period |
|---|---|---|
| Record single day, both land checkpoints | more than 588,000 travellers | 19 December 2025 |
| Previous peak | more than 578,000 crossings | 20 June 2025 |
| Year-end school holiday total | more than 22 million travellers | 21 Nov 2025 – 1 Jan 2026 |
| Woodlands daily average | 327,000 | 2024 |
| Woodlands daily average | 269,000 | 2023 |
| Woodlands single-day record | 376,000 | 20 December 2024 |
| Woodlands projection | 400,000 daily | by 2050 |
Two things in that table are more useful than the records. The first is the growth rate: Woodlands went from 269,000 to 327,000 a day between 2023 and 2024, a 22% rise in one year, against a projection of 400,000 by 2050 — meaning a single recent year delivered roughly four-fifths of the growth the authority had budgeted for the following quarter-century. The second is a waiting time the authority itself published: during the May 2025 peak, "car travellers departing during peak periods had to wait up to three hours for immigration clearance, due to traffic tailback from Malaysia." Note the attribution. The queue was on the Singapore side and the cause was on the Malaysian side, which is the usual shape of it and the reason no single authority can fix it.
There is a policy reason to expect the growth to continue, and it is documented. Singapore and Malaysia exchanged an Agreement on the Johor-Singapore Special Economic Zone on 7 January 2025, at the 11th Malaysia-Singapore Leaders' Retreat, covering the Iskandar Development Region and Pengerang and targeting 50 projects in the first five years, 100 within ten, and 20,000 skilled job opportunities. Johor recorded RM56 billion of approved investment in the first half of 2025. When a Singaporean minister was asked in Parliament on 25 September 2025 about the zone's projected impact on cross-border traffic, the reply contained no traveller-volume figures and no crossing projections at all — so the growth is policy, and the capacity for it is not yet a published number.
The RTS Link, and why two governments give it two opening years
The rail link that is supposed to take the pressure off has one specification and two opening dates, each stated by the authority responsible for its own half.
Both sides agree on the shape. It is a 4km journey — 2.7km in Malaysia and 1.3km in Singapore — between two stations, Woodlands North and Bukit Chagar, crossing the Straits of Johor on a 25-metre-high bridge. It is designed for up to 10,000 passengers per hour per direction, in four-car trains, with a peak headway of 3.6 minutes and an estimated 40,000 passengers a day on opening. The operator is RTS Operations Pte Ltd, a joint venture of Malaysia's Prasarana Malaysia Bhd and Singapore's SMRT Corporation Ltd. Immigration is co-located: "Passengers travelling in either direction will clear both Singapore and Malaysia authorities at the point of departure" — one clearance, at the origin, which is the single biggest difference from driving.
The disagreements are small and worth knowing. Singapore's authority states a journey time of "about five minutes"; the Malaysian project site states "6 minutes — End to end, station to station". Singapore's page states service is "targeted to commence passenger service at the end of 2026"; the Malaysian owner's site indicates 2027, in news items dated August 2026. Both pages were live on 22 September 2026, the Malaysian one is the more recently updated, and neither records a revision of the other. Plan on the later date and treat the earlier one as a target rather than a timetable.
The project cost, and how it is shared, is published by neither. It is absent from Singapore's project page, from its groundbreaking factsheet, from the Malaysian owner's sites, and from the Malaysian transport ministry's ongoing-rail-projects page — which lists three projects, none of them this one.
What this guide does not cover
The Malaysian toll amounts at the Causeway and the Second Link are not in here, because no official source reached publishes them. The highway authority's own site carries a toll-rate section that says the online rate service is "sedang dalam penambahbaikan" — under improvement — and the concessionaire offers a calculator interface with no rate table in the page text. The only documented Malaysian toll fact is that rates were reduced on 1 February 2020, and that comes from a Singaporean release which does not give the amounts.
The rule on buying subsidised fuel in Malaysia with a foreign-plated car is also absent, and this is the largest gap. The responsible ministry's site was unreachable throughout research, the federal gazette portal failed at the proxy, the law-of-Malaysia portal returned empty bodies for the relevant acts, and the current fuel-subsidy programme portal is a single-page application whose content sits behind a login. Widely repeated figures for the penalty exist; none could be traced to an instrument, so none is stated here.
Causeway history is not covered. Neither the opening date nor the structure length could be obtained from any official source: the national archive was unreachable on every attempt, the immigration authority's heritage pages return 404 despite being listed in its own sitemap, and its checkpoint pages carry addresses and opening hours only. The one official figure in the vicinity is the city council's statement that "the distance to Singapore is approximately 1.5 km, connected by the causeway", which is a separation distance across the Selat Tebrau and not a published structure length.
Singapore's statutory provision and fine amount for the three-quarter tank rule are not stated, because the immigration authority's page sets out the requirement and refers readers on to Singapore Customs without giving either. What the page does give is the requirement itself — at least three-quarters of a tank of motor fuel on departure, covering diesel, petrol and compressed natural gas, with hybrids needing both tanks three-quarters full, extended to diesel-powered Singapore-registered vehicles with effect from 1 April 2019 — and the consequence, which is that a driver "may have to pay a fine, or be prosecuted in court" and "may also be required to perform a U-turn at the land checkpoints."
Finally, there is no official cross-border price comparison. Malaysia's statistics department publishes a Johor consumer price index, and Singapore's publishes its own; nothing on either side, nor on the Johor portal, compares the two. Any claim about how much cheaper a given thing is across the border is somebody's shopping basket, not a published statistic.
